Say Superstrings (2018)


Project Role: Technical Supervision and Implementation of the Audio and EEG data visualization
Project Contractor: Ouchhh New Media Agency
Tools: vvvv, NeuroSky MindWave

The following text is taken from the Ars Electronica event page.

The concert is dedicated to Turkish composer Fazil Say and played by the South Korean/German trio. The visualization is provided by the new media studio OUCHHH and especially created for the Deep Space 8K at Ars Electronica Center in Linz.

What if matter is nothing but notes coming out of a vibrating string?

According to superstring theory, all matter in the world is made up of one thing: vibrating thin strings. These strings, which vibrate at different resonances, bring everything into existence in the known universe. Matter consists of small strings. When these strings are pulled in a certain way – just like a violin or guitar string – they create a frequency. Therefore, the pitches/notes occur. We have become aware of the existence of the little notes that these superstrings create, and we realize that the universe is a symphony, and all the physical laws of the universe fit these superstrings.

Ouchhh will take inspiration from the notes that exist in the universe while micro-strings vibrate (Subatomic Particles) in real time and define the melodies created by the notes as “Matter” and symphonies of these melodies as “Universe”.

With dastrio, Ouchhh will take 11 dimensions in abstract directions in super grade gravity theory and move them beyond space in real time. The dimensions captured intuitively in living space will constantly change and turn into reality.

Fazil Say:
“Space Jump” for piano trio
Sonata for Violin and Piano

Bernhard Metz – Violin
Manuel Von Der Nahmer – Violoncello
Suyang Kim – Piano

Ferdi Alıcı
Eylül Duranağaç Alıcı
Gürkan Kurtbay
C. Sina Çetin